Buy Tickets

Theater Studies

Duke Players is the student organization in the Department of Theater Studies.

Its members support the Department's productions by running auditions and working on production crews, promoting participation in theater by all Duke students, and by representing the interests of students who are involved in Theater Studies. Duke Players also produces one lab production each semester in addition to the Orientation Show it produces to acquaint incoming freshmen with the riches of theater at Duke. 

Membership 
 
All Theater Studies majors and minors are automatically members of Duke Players. Any other student who has actively participated in two Departmental productions (at least one of which is in a non-performance capacity) will be invited to become a member. Students involved in a production through a Theater Studies course which requires a production assignment may count that production toward membership. For more information, email one of the officers listed below. 
 
Current Duke Players Council 
 

Executive Producer (acting): Mike Myers, michael.myers@duke.edu
Secretary: Karmyn McKnight, karmyn.mcknight@duke.edu
Directing Liaison: Justin Paley, justin.paley@duke.edu
Directing Assistant: Lindsay Samuel, lindsay.samuel@duke.edu Technical Liaison: Austin Powers, austin.powers@duke.edu
Publicity Chair: Faye Goodwin, cfg4@duke.edu
Membership Chair: Karmyn McKnight, karmyn.mcknight@duke.edu
Membership Assistant: Kari Barclay, kari.barclay@duke.edu
Faculty Representatives: Neal Bell (neal.bell@duke.edu)

Check out the Duke Players blog site at: http://dukegroups.duke.edu/dukeplayers/

A Number by Caryl Churchill presented by Duke Players October 2013
Videography by Nicholas Pilarski

Above, video of God, the Duke Players orientation show, August 2013. Below, stills from the show.

Video and stills by Nicholas Pilarski

    • god 12
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 13
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 8
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 1
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 2
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 3
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 5
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 11
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 10
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 7
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 4
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
    • god 15
    • Photo Credit: Nicholas Pilarski
  • Previous
  • Next

Below - video of Love Song, the Duke Players spring 2013 show. Play by John Kolvenbach, directed by Kari Barclay.

Video of A Dopey Fairy Tale and Other Vaudevilles -  An evening of Chekhov Parodies - one acts by Neil Simon and Michael Weller. Directed by Molly Forlines for the Duke Players Orientation Show, Brody Theater, Duke University, Aug./Sept. 2012

    • love and remains2 web

Duke Players presented Love and Human Remains by Brad Fraser Oct. 27-29, 2011 at 8 pm in Brody Theater on East Campus. Directed by Steven Li.

    • inspector hound 3
    • inspector hound 2
    • inspector hound 1
  • Previous
  • Next

Duke Players just finished a successful run of The Real Inspector Hound by Tom Stoppard in Brody Theater. This orientation show introduced Duke Players to lots of new freshmen and was enjoyed by returning students as well. Senior Cameron McCallie directed.